The Significance of Daily Recitation of Kalima: Strengthening Faith

Rate this post

The Significance of Daily Recitation of Kalima: Strengthening Faith. Faith, the unwavering belief in Allah Ta’ala, lies at the core of one’s spiritual journey. At the heart of this faith stands the Kalima of Faith: ‘La-Ilaha Illallahu Muhammadur Rasusullah.’ This Kalima serves as the bedrock of one’s belief, representing the foremost of approximately 73 branches of faith.

Daily Recitation of Kalima

Daily Recitation of Kalima

According to the teachings of Islam, as conveyed by Hazrat Abu Hurairah Radiyallahu Tayala Anhu, the Messenger of Allah, may God bless him and grant him peace, proclaimed, “Iman, or faith, comprises more than 70 or 73 branches. The noblest among them is the declaration of ‘La-Ilaha Illallah,’ while the most basic is the removal of obstacles from the path of others, an act steeped in humility and a branch of faith itself.” (Muslim, Hadith, 1/35)

The act of reciting ‘La-Ilaha Illallah’ holds the power to fortify one’s faith. It is believed that an individual who recites the Kalima at the moment of their passing will be granted entry into Jannat, the heavenly abode. Hazrat Mu’adh Ibn Jabal Radiyallahu Tayala Anhu relayed a saying of the Messenger of Allah, may God bless him and grant him peace, stating, “The key to Paradise is bearing witness that there is no Lord but Allah.” (Musnad Ahmad, Hadith, 22102)

According to Hazrat Uthman Radiyallahu Tayala Anhu, the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, conveyed, “Anyone who declares ‘La-Ilaaha Illallah’ and departs from this world while affirming this declaration shall undoubtedly find his place in Paradise.” (Muslim, 1/26)

The daily recitation of Kalima carries profound virtues. As Hazrat Abu Huraira Radiyallahu Tayala Anhu recounted, the Messenger of Allah, may God bless him and grant him peace, emphasized its significance by stating:

“Whoever recites the following a hundred times each day:

لَ إِلَهَ إِلَّا اللَّهُ، وَحْدَهُ لَ شَرِيكَ لَهُ، لَهُ المُلْكُ وَلَهُ الحَمْدُ، وَهُوَ عَلَى كُلِّ شَيْءٍ قَدِيرٌ

Translation: There is no god but Allah, He alone has no partner, to Him belongs all dominion and to Him belongs all praise, and to Him belongs all power over all things),

it shall be akin to freeing ten slaves, and one hundred good deeds shall be inscribed in their book of deeds, while one hundred sins shall be erased. This Kalima shall serve as a protective shield against Satan until the evening. None shall come with a deed superior to theirs, except for those who recite this Kalima more frequently.” (Sahih Bukhari, Hadith, 6403; Sahih Muslim, Hadith, 2691)

The daily recitation of Kalima is a profound act of faith, cleansing the soul, and nurturing a deeper connection with Allah. Embracing this practice not only strengthens one’s belief but also offers spiritual rewards that extend beyond measure.

Understanding the 5 Kalimas of Islam: What to Read and Recite

If you’re seeking to deepen your understanding of the 5 Kalimas in Islam and what each of them entails, you’ve come to the right place. Let’s explore these essential expressions of faith and devotion:

1. First Kalima (Tayyab): The first Kalima is a foundational declaration of faith, recited as “La ilaha illallah Muhammadur Rasulullah,” which translates to “There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.” It underscores the core tenets of monotheism and the belief in Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) as Allah’s chosen messenger.

2. Second Kalima (Shahada): The second Kalima, “Ashhadu an la ilaha illallah, wahdahu la sharika lahu, wa ashhadu anna Muhammadan ‘abduhoo wa rasooluhu,” reaffirms the oneness of Allah and the acceptance of Muhammad’s prophethood.

3. Third Kalima (Tamjeed): The third Kalima is a manifestation of praise and glorification of Allah, consisting of “Subhanallahi wal hamdu lillahi wa la ilaha illallahu wallahu akbar.” It exalts Allah’s perfection and supreme greatness.

4. Fourth Kalima (Touheed): The fourth Kalima, “Laa ilaha illallah, wahdahu laa shareeka lahu, lahul-mulku wa lahul-hamdu wa huwa ‘ala kulli shay’in qadeer,” reinforces belief in the oneness of Allah, His absolute sovereignty, and His omnipotence.

5. Fifth Kalima (Astaghfar): The fifth Kalima is a heartfelt supplication for seeking forgiveness. It begins with “Astaghfirullah Rabbi min kulli dhambin” and implores Allah’s forgiveness for all sins, whether known or concealed, acknowledging His boundless knowledge and capacity for pardon.

These 5 Kalimas are not only expressions of faith but also serve as profound spiritual practices for Muslims. Regular recitation of these Kalimas deepens one’s connection with Allah and strengthens their commitment to Islamic beliefs and values. Whether you seek guidance, spiritual growth, or a way to reaffirm your faith, the recitation of these Kalimas holds immense significance in the life of a devout Muslim.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *