Hajj Duties, Obligatory Acts, and Sunnahs Explained

Rate this post

Hajj Duties, one of the five fundamental pillars of Islam, is obligatory for physically and financially capable men and women. As stated in the Qur’an, “Hajj is obligatory from Allah for those people who are able to perform it” (Surah Al-Imran; verse: 97).

Hajj: Duties, Obligatory Acts, and Sunnahs Explained

What are the Hajj Duties?

Hajj encompasses three main duties:

  1. Iram’s Intention or Will
  2. Performing Arafat in Akuf, which involves standing on the ground of Arafat anytime from 9 Zilhaj Zohar to 10 Zilhaj Fajr.
  3. Tawaf Ziyarat, where pilgrims circle the Kaaba seven times between 10 Zilhaj dawn and 12 Zilhaj sunset.

Now, let’s explore the obligatory acts of Hajj.

How many and what are the obligatory Hajj?

There are six obligatory acts:

  1. Staying at a place called Muzdalifah on the way back from Arafa to Mina for a period between dawn and sunrise of 10 Zilhaj.
  2. Safa and Marwa Saying or running.
  3. Ramee Zimar or stoning Satan at Jamara on the 10th, 11th, and 12th of Zilhaj.
  4. Completion of Ihram by either wrapping or cutting the hair.
  5. Farewell circumambulation.
  6. Pilgrimage to Madinah Sharif during Ramadan Nabi (PBUH). (Asan Fiqh, Yusuf Islahi, Volume II, Page: 251)

Lastly, let’s look at the recommended acts (Sunnahs) of Hajj.

How many and what is the Sunnah of Hajj?

There are ten Sunnahs:

  1. Performing Tawaf Qudum or First Tawaf (for Ifraad and Kiran Hajj pilgrims).
  2. Engaging in Ramal during Tawaf, walking valiantly like a soldier for the first three rounds.
  3. Listening to the Khalifa or his representative’s sermons or speeches in three places over three days (7 Zilhaj at Kaaba Sharif in Haram Sharif, 9 Zilhaj at Arafa at Masjid Namira, 11 Zilhaj at Mina).
  4. Going from Makkah Sharif to Mina on the 8th of Zilhaj, offering the five prayers (Zohr, Asr, Maghrib, Isha, and Fajr), and staying overnight.
  5. Departing from Mina to Arafat on the 9th of Zilhaj after sunrise.
  6. Performing ablution in the morning (before noon) for Aquf Arafa or standing at Arafa.
  7. Staying at Arafa on the 9th of Zilhaj and leaving for Muzdalifah after sunset.
  8. Spending the night in Mina on the 10th, 11th, and 12th of Zilhaj.
  9. Staying for some time at a place called ‘Muhachhar’ while returning from Mina to Makkah Sharif.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *